National Premiere Committee

In planning the public release of the documentary, we have found support from many people, both in Tennessee and across the nation, who have agreed to serve either as honorary or substantive members on the National Premiere Steering Committee for Duty of the Hour.

This Committee is composed of elected officials, attorneys, judges, corporate officials, civil rights activists, clergy, and members of the greater Memphis community.

Members of the Premiere Committee have provided promotional, financial, or other support for Duty of the Hour, or other Hooks Institute programming.  The Hooks Institute is deeply grateful for this support.

Duty of the Hour:  The Life and Times of Dr. Benjamin L. Hooks

Premiere Steering Committee

Honorary Members

Maxine Smith
Civil Rights Activist
Former Executive Secretary, NAACP Memphis Branch
Memphis, TN

Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
Washington, DC

Representative Steve Cohen (D-TN)
Washington, DC

The Hon. Bill Frist
Former U.S. Senator
Cressey & Company, LP
Nashville, TN

The Hon. Bill Haslam
Governor of Tennessee
Nashville, TN

Mrs. Frances D. Hooks
Civil Rights Activist
Wife of Benjamin L. Hooks

Benjamin Todd Jealous
President and CEO
Baltimore, MD

Representative John Lewis (D-GA)
Washington, DC

The Hon. Mark H. Luttrell, Jr.
Mayor, Shelby County
Memphis, TN

Michael Powell, Esq.
Providence Equity Partners, LLC
Washington, DC

Beverly Robertson
Executive Director
National Civil Rights Museum
Memphis, TN

Madeleine C. Taylor
Executive Director
NAACP – Memphis
Memphis, TN

The Hon. A C Wharton, Jr.
Mayor, City of Memphis
Memphis, TN

The Hon. Alexander N. Williams, Jr.

Federal Judge, District of Maryland
Baltimore, MD


Rodney Slater, Co-Chair
Former Secretary of Transportation to
President Bill Clinton
Partner, Patton Boggs, LLP
Washington, DC

Ralph Faudree, PhD 
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN

Rose Flenorl
Fed Ex
Memphis, TN

Sandra L. Hayne
Vice-President – Private Banking
Trustmark Banking and Financial Solutions
Germantown, TN

Cato Johnson
Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs
Methodist Healthcare
Memphis, TN

Rev. Robert Lewis Mason
Senior Pastor
Greater Middle Baptist Church
Memphis, TN

Stacey J. Mobley, Esq.
Senior Counsel
Dickstein Shapiro, LLP
Washington, DC

Rev. Dr. Stephen Montgomery
Senior Pastor
Idlewild Presbyterian Church
Memphis, TN

Terri Murphy
Terri Murphy Communications
Memphis, TN

Carla Peacher-Ryan, Esq.
Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC
Memphis, TN

Thomas L. Sager, Esq.
Senior Vice President and General Counsel
Wilmington, DE

Rev. Dr. Frank Thomas
Senior Pastor
Mississippi Boulevard Christian Church
Memphis, TN

Monica Wharton, Esq.
Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Counsel
The Regional Medical Center at Memphis
Memphis, TN